Search Results

Search

81 - 90 of 1,411 search results
  1. Fully-matching results

  2. Electricity

    https://www.utas.edu.au/library/companion_to_tasmanian_history/E/Electricity.htm
    25 Jun 2012: Electricity. Undated postcard of Tungatinah Power Station (Tasmaniana Library, SLT). Tasmania's first European settlers used water to power most of their myriad flourmills for almost a century. Not surprisingly, when they embraced the new technology
  3. Clark: Tasmanian and family background - University of Tasmania

    https://www.utas.edu.au/library/exhibitions/clark/clark_exhibition/family.html
    25 Jun 2012: Andrew Inglis Clark was born in Hobart in 1848. His father, Alexander Clark, was a Scottish engineer who arrived in the colony in 1832, and was responsible for the design and construction of a flour mill at Port Arthur. Though transportation came to
  4. Commemorating Clark - University of Tasmania

    https://www.utas.edu.au/library/exhibitions/clark/clark_exhibition/commem.html
    25 Jun 2012: Clark has long had admirers, nationally and locally, among democrats and republicans. The recent debate over the Republic refocused attention on his conception of the legally independent Commonwealth, and his constitutional thinking has become more
  5. James Erskine Calder

    https://www.utas.edu.au/library/companion_to_tasmanian_history/C/Calder.htm
    25 Jun 2012: James Erskine Calder. James Erskine Calder (1808–82), surveyor and historian. Born in England, Calder arrived in Van Diemen's Land in 1829 to take up a position as Assistant Surveyor. For the next three decades he explored and surveyed vast tracts
  6. Frederick Augustus Packer

    https://www.utas.edu.au/library/companion_to_tasmanian_history/P/Packer.htm
    25 Jun 2012: Frederick Augustus Packer. Frederick Augustus Gow Packer (1839–1902), musician and civil servant, was born in England. In 1852 the family migrated to Hobart Town and soon became prominent in the colony's musical life. Packer followed his father as
  7. Police

    https://www.utas.edu.au/library/companion_to_tasmanian_history/P/Police.htm
    25 Jun 2012: Police. Launceston Police 1876 (ALMFA, SLT). Police protection was necessary as soon as the first settlements of Hobart Town and Port Dalrymple were made in 1804. To maintain order from dusk to dawn, Lt-Governor Collins established watches staffed
  8. John Soundy

    https://www.utas.edu.au/library/companion_to_tasmanian_history/S/Soundy.htm
    25 Jun 2012: John Soundy. John Soundy, left, playing bowls (AOT, PH30/1/5835). John Soundy (1878–1960), businessman and politician, was born in Dorset, and arrived in Hobart in 1883. In 1911 he took charge of the Hobart family drapery business of JT Soundy Pty
  9. Rutile and Zircon mining

    https://www.utas.edu.au/library/companion_to_tasmanian_history/R/Rutile.htm
    25 Jun 2012: Rutile and Zircon mining. Rutile and Zircon, found in mineral sands, were mined on King Island's beaches in the 1960s to obtain titanium dioxide, used in paint manufacture, and zirconium dioxide, valuable for its ability to withstand high
  10. Polish Community

    https://www.utas.edu.au/library/companion_to_tasmanian_history/P/Polish.htm
    25 Jun 2012: Polish Community. The Polish Community in Tasmania began when a sudden influx of some 1500 Poles arrived after 1947, a tiny fraction of the several million Poles worldwide who chose exile rather than life in a post-war Poland under Russian communist
  11. Floods

    https://www.utas.edu.au/library/companion_to_tasmanian_history/F/Floods.htm
    25 Jun 2012: Floods. Postcard of Launceston's Cataract Gorge in flood, undated (Tasmaniana Library, SLT). Floods were first recorded as widespread throughout Van Diemen's Land in September 1828, when most bridges in the Midlands were carried away. The Ross

Refine your results

Back to results

Shortlist

Clear all
Back to results

History

Recent searches

Clear all